Fair Medal

Gordon Maskew Fair Award

The Gordon Maskew Fair Award honors one of the pioneers of environmental engineering. Dean Fair, in addition to his own exemplary career, spawned a living legacy during his lifetime -- those that he taught are now teaching us.

Through the Fair Award, the Academy seeks to identify Board Certified Environmental Engineers, Board Certified Environmental Engineering Members, and Board Certified Environmental Scientists who have contributed to the status of the environmental engineering or science professions by:

  • Exemplary professional conduct
  • Recognized achievements in the practice of environmental engineering or science
  • Significant contributions to the control of the quality of the world's environment

For the full list of eligibility criteria and information on how you can submit nominations for a worthy Environmental Engineer or Scientist, click here.

Fair Winner

2014 Gordon Maskew Fair Award Recipient

Dr. Perry McCarty

Perry L. McCarty is the Silas H. Palmer Professor Emeritus at Stanford University, where he came in 1962 to develop their environmental engineering and science program. He has had positions at Harvard, MIT, Wayne State, a Chair Professorship at Tsinghua University, China, and World Class University Professorship at Inha University, South Korea. He has been an invited guest lecturer at more than 80 universities worldwide.

McCarty received a bachelor's degree in civil engineering from Wayne State University, and M.S. and Sc.D. degrees from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He was Chairman of Stanford's Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering from 1980-1985, and Director of Stanford's Western Region Hazardous Substance Research Center from 1989-2002.

McCarty was elected to the National Academy of Engineering, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the American Academy of Microbiology, Distinguished Member of the American Society of Civil Engineers, and Honorary Member in the American Academy of Environmental Engineering and Science, the American Water Works Association, and the Water Environment Federation. He has received numerous awards, including the John and Alice Tyler Prize for Environmental Achievement in 1992, the Athalie Richardson Irvine Clarke Prize for Outstanding Achievements in Water Science and Technology in 1997, and the Stockholm Water Prize in 2007. He has over 350 publications, and is coauthor of the textbooks, Chemistry for Environmental Engineering and Science, and Environmental Biotechnology - Principles and Applications. He has served the profession broadly, including with numerous committees, boards, and commissions for the National Academies.

Past Winners

2013 -- Alonzo W. Lawrence
2012 -- C. P. Huang
2011 -- Hillel I. Shuval
2010 -- Rao Y. Surampalli
2009 -- Thomas E. Wilson
2008 -- R. Tim Haug
2007 -- Jim F. Stahl
2006 -- Philip C. Singer
2005 -- Robert C. Marini
2004 -- Richard A. Conway
2003 -- Charles C. Johnson, Jr.
2002 -- Theodore M. Schad
2001 -- Cecil Lue-Hing
2000 -- Frederick G. Pohland
1999 -- W. Wesley Eckenfelder
1998 -- Gerald T. Orlob
1997 -- Paul H. Woodruff
1996 -- Raymond J. Loehr
1995 -- Walter J. Weber, Jr.
1994 -- Jerome B. Gilbert
1993 -- Charles A. Sorber
1992 -- William J. Carroll
1991 -- Paul L. Busch
1990 -- Walter E. Garrison
1989 -- John C. Geyer
1988 -- Henry L. Longest, II
1987 -- Robert A. Canham
1986 -- Joseph F. Lagnese, Jr.
1985 -- Vinton W. Bacon
1984 -- Joseph F. Malina, Jr.
1983 -- Arthur C. Stern
1982 -- Earnest F. Gloyna
1981 -- Gerard A. Rohlich
1980 -- William R. Gibbs
1979 -- Joseph C. Lawler
1978 -- Stanley E. Kappe
1977 -- Roy F. Weston
1976 -- Earnest Boyce
1975 -- Wesley E. Gilbertson
1974 -- Frank A. Butrico
1973 -- John H. Ludwig
1972 -- Daniel A. Okun
1971 -- James B. Coulter

Back to Top