Honorary Member

One or more Honorary Member may be selected each year by the Academy's Board of Trustees by affirmative vote of at least two-thirds of its members. The individual so honored possesses one or more of the following characteristics:

  • has attained a position of eminence in the field of environmental and/or human health protection;
  • has made a single noteworthy contribution or sustained contribution to the advancement of environmental and/or human health protection; or
  • has rendered outstanding service over a long period of time resulting in the advancement of the affairs of the Academy.

For the full list of eligibility criteria and information on how you can submit nominations for a worthy Environmental Engineer or Scientist, click here.

Honorary Winner

2014 Honorary Member

Dr. David Jenkins

David Jenkins is Professor Emeritus of Civil and Environmental Engineering at the University of California at Berkeley. He was born and educated in the United Kingdom. He holds a B.Sc. in Applied Biochemistry from Birmingham University and a Ph.D. in Public Health Engineering from the University of Durham, King's College. He conducted research and taught environmental engineering at Berkeley from 1960 until 1999. He served the CEE department as Chair of the Environmental Engineering Group and Vice-chair of the Department. Dr. Jenkins was Director of the Environmental Engineering and Health Sciences Research Laboratory. Upon retirement, he was awarded the Berkeley Citation. He continues to be professionally active in wastewater treatment plant research, teaching and practice in the USA, Great Britain, Singapore, Italy and Brazil.

Professor Jenkins has researched and published widely in environmental engineering. His major areas of research are biological wastewater and sludge treatment processes, water and wastewater chemistry and microbiology. In these areas, he has focused on the causes and controls of activated sludge solids separation problems and the chemical and biological methods of nutrient removal. In his professional work Dr. Jenkins specializes in the upgrading and troubleshooting of wastewater treatment plants and in environmental and process problems involving his expertise in chemistry and microbiology.

David Jenkins is the author of more than 250 publications and reports and the co-author of four texts. He is a member of the US National Academy of Engineering and an Honorary Member of the Berkeley Academy of distinguished Civil Engineering Alumni. He has received the Water Environment Federation (WEF) Eddy Medal for research (three times), the Camp Medal for contributions to wastewater treatment practice, the Fair Medal for wastewater engineering education, the Gasgoine Medal for wastewater treatment plant operations research (two times). Dr. Jenkins is an Honorary Life Member of WEF and the International Water Association (IWA) and a recipient of the IWA Sam Jenkins Medal, the Ardern and Lockett Award and the Global Water Award. He holds the Association of Environmental Engineering and Science Professors Pohland medal for work that bridges theory and practice.

Past Winners

2013 -- Nancy Sutley
2013 -- Bruce E. Rittmann
2013 -- Lisa Jackson
2012 -- Robert L. Van Antwerp, Jr.
2011 -- Clifford W. Randall
2010 -- George R. Crombie
2009 -- Perry McCarty
2009 -- Michael Rouse
2008 -- A. "Sek" Sekarajasekaran
2007 -- Daniel J. Gunaratnam
2006 -- James L. Barnard
2005 -- Xie Qingtao
2004 -- Bindu Nath Lohani
2003 -- Earnest F. Gloyna
2002 -- Vincent Bath
2001 -- Norihito Tambo
2000 -- Klaus R. Imhoff
1999 -- Harvey F. Ludwig
1994 -- Donald J. O'Connor
1991 -- Arthur C. Stern
1988 -- Daniel A. Okun
1983 -- Abel Wolman
1982 -- Stanley E. Kappe

Back to Top