Kappe Medal

Stanley E. Kappe Award

The Stanley E. Kappe Award honors the man whose dedicated leadership, strong devotion, and tireless efforts contributed so much to the growth and advancement of AAEE during the period he served as its Executive Director, 1971 to 1981.

This Award is presented to the Board Certified Environmental Engineer or Board Certification Environmental Scientist who has performed extraordinary and outstanding service contributory to significant advancement of public awareness to the betterment of the total environment and other objectives to the Academy.

For the full list of eligibility criteria and information on how you can submit nominations for a worthy Environmental Engineer or Environmental Scientist, click here

Kappe Winner

2014 Stanley E. Kappe Award Recipient

Dr. Debra Reinhart, P.E., BCEE

Dr. Debra Reinhart is a Pegasus Professor and Assistant Vice President for Research and Commercialization at the University of Central Florida and a member of the Civil, Environmental and Construction Engineering Department. She holds a B.S. in Engineering from Florida Technological University, and an M.S. in Sanitary Engineering and a Ph.D. in Environmental Engineering from Georgia Institute of Technology.

Dr. Reinhart served from 2011-2013 as the Environmental Engineering Program Manager at the U.S. National Science Foundation in Washington DC. Prior to entering academia, Dr. Reinhart was a consulting engineer for Keck and Wood and Ch2M Hill, both in Atlanta, Georgia. She was also Chief of the Research and Development Division of the Bureau of Pollution Control for the City of Atlanta, Georgia.

Dr. Reinhart's research area is solid waste management, with a focus on optimized waste collection and sustainable operation of landfills. Her research has been supported by grants from and contracts with both government agencies and private companies, with research support from the federal government (U.S. Environmental Protection Agency through subcontractor ARCADIS, and the National Science Foundation), core funding from the State of Florida (Hinkley Center for Solid and Hazardous Waste Management), and from the Environmental Research and Education Foundation. Dr. Reinhart is an Associate Editor for the Waste Management Journal, a member of the Managing Board of the International Waste Working Group, and a member of the Environmental Research and Education Foundation Board. In addition she is a member of the ABET Engineering Accreditation Commission and served as an ABET program evaluator for the past eight years. She has served on the American Society of Civil Engineer's Report Card for America's Infrastructure Committee for the last three report cards.

Dr. Reinhart has received national recognition from National Aeronautics and Space Administration, AAEES, the Tech Museum of Innovation, Solid Waste Association of North America and others. She is a registered professional engineer in Florida and Georgia, a Board Certified Environmental Engineer, and Fellow of the American Society of Civil Engineers and the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Dr. Reinhart has been quite active with AAEES. In addition to her ABET volunteer efforts, she was on the AAEES Board of Trustees from 1992 – 2010 and was the President in 2009. She chaired the Environmental Engineering Body of Knowledge Task Force which produced the Body of Knowledge in 2009. She has served on numerous committees for AAEES, including Strategic Planning, Policies and Procedures, Education, Solid Waste, Membership, Development and Outreach, Awards, Nominating, and Seminars and Workshop committees, the Website Working Group and has been on the board of the Environmental Engineering and Science Foundation since 2010.

Past Winners

2013 -- Richard W. Corneille
2012 -- Stephen G. Lippy
2011 -- Sandra L. Tripp
2010 -- Michael W. Selna
2009 -- Stephen P. Graef
2008 -- Brian P. Flynn
2007 -- Matthew Dominy
2006 -- Wayne F. Echelberger, Jr.
2005 -- H. Lanier Hickman, Jr.
2004 -- Robert C. Williams
2003 -- DeVere W. Ryckman
2002 -- William C. Boyle
2001 -- William P. Dee
2000 -- Charles A. Willis
1999 -- Richard A. Conway
1998 -- Charles O. Velzy
1997 -- Alvin F. Meyer, Jr.
1996 -- Joseph F. Lagnese, Jr.
1995 -- Frederick G. Pohland
1994 -- Alan H. Vicory
1993 -- Peter B. Lederman
1992 -- Robert C. Marini
1991 -- William H. Busch
1990 -- Robert R. Perry
1989 -- Louis L. Guy, Jr.
1988 -- Howard E. Hesketh
1987 -- Ralph C. Graber
1986 -- James B. Coulter
1985 -- Donald L. Snow
1984 -- Charles F. Niles, Jr.
1983 -- Ralph C. Palange

Back to Top