The AAEES Science Award

New for 2018

The AAEES Science Award is given to an individual who is an outstanding performer in the management and implementation of environmental science programs and projects conducted under either public or private auspices and has demonstrated exemplary professional conduct, has distinguished qualities of personal leadership, originality in devising new management techniques for dealing with environmental issues, and sensitivity and responsiveness to the impact of social and political influences on the conduct of environmental programs.

For the full list of eligibility criteria and information on how you can submit nominations for a worthy Environmental Scientist or Environmental Engineer, click here.

Science Award Winner

2018 Science Award Recipient

Joel Gerard Burken, Ph.D., P.E., F.AEESP, BCEE

Dr. Burken received his Ph.D. from the University of Iowa in 1996, where he conducted some of the initial research on phytoremediation. He has been at Missouri University of Science and Technology (formerly University of Missouri - Rolla) since 1997. He currently serves as Chair and Curators' Distinguished Professor of the Civil, Architectural and Environmental Engineering Department, and is a member of the US EPA Science Advisory Board. Dr. Burken has also held temporary positions at: EAWAG in Zurich Switzerland (research intern), at the National Environment Research Institute (NERI) in Denmark (visiting researcher and OECD Fellow) and at the University of Canterbury, New Zealand as an Erskine Fellow.

Joel's research has focused upon low impact and natural treatment systems since 1991. In that time, terms of sustainable-remediation, green infrastructure, and green-remediation have evolved and now promote the same fundamental aspects surrounding water quality and water resource management. His research in phytoremediation of organic contaminants and pioneering work in Phytoforensics have led to over 84 publications, a patented environmental assessment method, and international recognition with multiple research, teaching and service awards. This recognition includes twice winning the ASCE Rudolf Hering Medal, an NSF Career award, and being appointed a Fellow of the Association of Environmental Engineering and Science Professors (AEESP).

Dr. Burken has received the highest Missouri S&T awards for teaching, service, advising and has received the Faculty Excellence award 7 times. Dr. Burken was appointed as a Distinguished Curator's professor at Missouri S&T in 2015. His publications include 6 articles cited over 100 times each, and one article that was highlighted in the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) journal, Science.

Past Winners


Back to Top