2014 Excellence in Environmental Engineering and Science™ Competition Winners


The award recipients are listed below. Click on the links to view a full profile of each project.

Superior Achievement

South Los Angeles Wetland Park


Grand Prize

Agua Nueva Water Reclamation Facility

Honor Award

Greeley and Hansen
Newtown Creek NC-41 Central Residuals Building

Hazen and Sawyer P.C.:
Newtown Creek Wastewater Treatment Plant Secondary Treatment Upgrade

Environmental Sustainability

Grand Prize

Black & Veatch:
Echo Park Lake Rehabilitation

Honor Award

Navy Region Southwest:
Navy Region Southwest Environmental Sustainability

Industrial Waste Practice

Grand Prize

Iron Mountain Mine Sediment Removal Remediation Project


Grand Prize

CDM Smith/Carollo/RA Consultants Team:
UV Disinfection for the Richard Miller Treatment Plant


Grand Prize

CDM Smith:
City of San Diego Long Range Water Resources Plan

Honor Award

CH2M HILL, Inc.:
Disaster-Proofing Vital Infrastructure, NYCDEP Wastewater Resiliency Plan

Hazen and Sawyer, P.C.:
Advanced Wastewater Treatment Project


Grand Prize

CDM Smith:
Biological Treatment of Nitrate and Perchlorate for Drinking Water Production

DC Water:
Removing the Primary Barrier to Successful Mainstream Deammonification

Honor Award

Brown and Caldwell:
EchoWater Advanced Treatment Technology Pilot (ATTP)

Small Firms

Grand Prize

American Engineering Consultants, Inc.:
Membrane Thickening - A Sustainable Solution

Small Projects

Grand Prize

HDR Engineering, Inc.:
Lake Kampeska Phosphorus Removal Demonstration Project

University Research

Grand Prize and Activated Sludge Process & Its Variants

Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Rice University:
Proliferation of Multidrug-resistant "Superbugs" (NDM-1-Positive) in Activated Sludge Treatment Plants

Honor Award

Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Rice University:
Gene Probe to Determine the Feasibility and Assess the Performance of Monitored Natural Attenuation for Dioxane Plumes

Back to Top