Related Items


Volume 31, No. 6 -- June 2015

Nominations Open for Prestigious AAEES Awards

Do you know someone who deserves recognition for their professional achievement? Each year at the AAEES Awards Luncheon ceremony, the Academy honors top environmental engineers and scientists. The individual awards include:

  • Edward J. Cleary Award for outstanding management of environmental protection enterprises
  • Gordon Maskew Fair Award for substantial contributions to the environmental engineering and science profession
  • Stanley E. Kappe Award for outstanding service to the Academy and advancement of public awareness
  • Honorary Member for professional eminence and achievements
  • International Honorary Member for professional eminence and achievements

Forms for submitting nominations are available at Please submit your nominations to Sammi Olmo at not later than July 15, 2015.

Frederick George Pohland Medal - The recipient of the 2015 Frederick George Pohland Medal is Dr. Morton Barlaz, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE. The Award will be presented at the AEESP Research and Education Conference at Yale University on Tuesday, June 16. Congratulations Dr. Barlaz!


Forty-five BCEE/BCEEMs, chosen at random, have received notices for the 2015 audit. BCES members are not yet eligible for the audit. Each person audited is being asked to supply the Recertification Committee with documentation substantiating at least 40 Professional Development Hours. If you work full-time you automatically receive 24 PDHs and then you only have to come up with 16 more. This can be done by attending seminars, classes, symposiums, exhibits, performing presentations, etc. The PDHs are acquired by continuing professional development activities during calendar years January 1, 2013 through December 31, 2014 to ensure compliance with the continuing professional development requirements for Active and Life Active specialty certification. Those who were audited within the past 10 years are exempt from the current cycle.

Membership Corner

If you have not renewed your certification by March 31st it is considered expired! Please contact Joyce Dowen at Academy Headquarters at 410-266-3311 or Did you know you can always renew online anytime at The AAEES Center at:

AAEES Shirts Available!

Click here to order yours now!

The superb feel of interlock knit enhanced by the subtle glow of jacquard knit shadow stripes. These easy care polos are 58/42 cotton/poly, flat knit collar, three-button placket and open hem sleeves. Available in Small to XXL. Click here to order yours now!

2015 Examinations

On April 22nd, the Admissions Committee completed evaluations of more than 45 applications paving the way for examinations to be conducted during July and August. Coupled with holdovers from previous years, more than 65 examinations will be administered this summer. If you are called upon to serve on a peer review panel or as a Chief Examiner, your cooperation and assistance in this effort will be appreciated and you will receive 0.5 PDH credit per interview.

Environmental Engineering and Scientist Survey


AAEES is conducting a short survey on our periodical, Environmental Engineer and Scientist, to gain insight and feedback from you, our readers, on how to make this publication more compelling.

To participate, go to

The survey deadline has been extended to July 1st. Don't miss this opportunity to allow your voice to be heard!

Staff Summer Hours

Staff summer hours begin Memorial Day Weekend. The office closes Fridays at 12:00 p.m. Normal business hours resume following Labor Day Weekend. You may leave a message for any staff person by calling 410.266.3311 and listening for the appropriate extension, or send an email by clicking here.

Subscribe to the AAEES Meetings and Events Calendar

Click here to view the AAEES Events Calendar. Bookmark it or subscribe to our calendar to have the most up-to-date events, meetings, and announcements.

Have You Visited The AAEES Center? - BCEEs, BCEEMs, BCESs, Members, and Student Members.

You may now renew and update your Profile records online! Additional members-only benefits include an online directory, search for other members, view updated committee and board rosters, and purchase lapel pins, certificates, and other apparel!

Non-members and guests are also able to use the AAEES Center to apply for membership, subscribe to Environmental Engineer and Scientist, register for events, and to purchase AAEES publications. Click on the Login button on the home page to visit the AAEES Center or click on the following link: The AAEES Center is a secure site.

AAEES on Social Media

Facebook LinkedIn Twitter Youtube Flickr Blogspot

Please visit, follow, subscribe, and recommend the Academy on all of our newly updated social media networks! Contribute a valuable discussion to the 1900+ subscribers on LinkedIn, join the conversation on Twitter, check out your Academy's exciting events on Facebook, view the most up to date photos on Flickr, and much more! You can access all of the Academy's social media networks through the shortcuts on the AAEES homepage:

AAEES Activities

Elevate Your Visibility Today Through the Academy

It's easy and free to host an Academy Workshop or Seminar in your locale - If you would like to learn more, please email Workshops and Seminars Chair, Sarah Cwikla at, and copy Be sure to give an approximate date and suggested topic (if any), possible speakers, and possible location. For three easy steps to hosting an event, click here.

June 7-10, 2015, AWWA ACE15 Conference was held in Anaheim, CA. Thank you to Issam Najm for organizing the AAEES exhibit booth.

June 22-25 2015, A&WMA's 108th Annual Conference & Exhibition is being held at The Raleigh Convention Center in Raleigh, NC. Please visit AAEES at Booth #108. The AEESP-AAEES-A&WMA Meet and Greet Lecture Breakfast is scheduled for Wednesday, June 24, 2015 at 7:30-8:30am. Click here to register. Contact A&WMA with any registration questions.
Organized by Merlyn Hough.

September 28, 2015, AAEES Breakfast at WEFTEC. All are invited! This year's breakfast is at 7:00 am. Details forthcoming. Earn one Academy PDH for attending. Click here to register.

September 27-30, 2015, WEFTEC - AAEES will be exhibiting again at Booth 1447 and volunteers for booth duty are welcome. Click here to sign up as an official Academy booth spokesperson. Not only will you get a chance to promote the Academy, but you will also find yourself making connections that are made possible only through your participation in the booth. Being there adds to your WEFTEC experience. We look forward to your joining the AAEES WEFTEC team!

Back to Top