Cleary Medal

Edward J. Cleary Award

The Cleary Award is given to an individual who is an outstanding performer in the management of environmental protection enterprises conducted under either public or private auspices and has demonstrated exemplary professional conduct, personal leadership, originality in devising new environmental protection techniques, and sensitivity and responsiveness to social, economic, and political factors in environmental protection.

For the full list of eligibility criteria and information on how you can submit nominations for a worthy Environmental Engineer or Environmental Scientist, click here.

Cleary Winner

2019 Edward J. Cleary Award Recipient

Christopher R. Schulz, P.E., BCEE

Mr. Schulz is a Senior Vice-President with CDM Smith with over 32 years of experience designing water treatment facilities in the United States and throughout the world. He holds 11 US patents in water treatment technologies, has published multiple articles in peer-reviewed journals, presented more than 70 papers in professional engineering conferences, and co-authored a book on surface water treatment for communities in developing countries.

Mr. Schulz has served as technical director or process lead on dozens of water treatment plant designs involving advanced processes such as UV, ozone, advanced oxidation and biological filtration. He has been active in water treatment process research, and his diligence has led to the development of new technologies for ozone dissolution, ozone disinfection of water mains, hydraulic flocculation, and field calibration of ultraviolet (UV) intensity sensors.

Early in his professional career, Mr. Schulz was employed by the World Bank and served as a research assistant developing low-cost water and sanitation technologies in developing countries. Over the past ten years, he volunteered with private companies in Guatemala, Ghana, and India to develop simple household water filter technologies for communities without access to safe water supplies.

Mr. Schulz has a bachelor's degree in civil engineering from the University of Detroit and a master's degree in environmental engineering from the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill.

He is a registered engineer in Colorado, a Diplomate with the American Academy of Environmental Engineers and Scientists, and a Board member of the International Ozone Association and International Ultraviolet Light Association.

Past Winners

2018 Pallansch, Karen
2017 Murthy, Sudhir
2016 Lynch, Kira
2015 Shafer, Kevin
2014 Bailey, Walter F.
2013 Vicory, Jr., Alan H.
2012 Malina, Jr., Joseph F.
2011 Lanyon, Richard F.
2010 Maguin, Stephen R.
2009 Bishop, Walter J.
2008 Brown, Jeanette A.
2007 Weaver, Leo
2005 Foxworthy, James E.
2003 Symons, James M.
2001 Stahl, James F.
1999 Hellman, Thomas M.
1997 Vasuki, N.C.
1995 Dalton, Frank
1993 Georgeson, Duane L.
1991 Reilly, William K.
1989 Hair, Jay D.
1987 Heiberg, III, LTG E. R.
1985 Ruckelshaus, William D.
1983 Carroll, William J.
1981 Ling, Joseph T.
1979 Parkhurst, John D.
1977 Haney, Paul D.
1975 Lang, Martin
1973 Baxter, Samuel S.

Back to Top