Excellence in Environmental Engineering and Science Education (E4S)

The E4S Award will be granted to an educator who has made a significant contribution to the profession in the area of educating practitioners. The award will be jointly administered by AAEES and AEESP and will be bestowed annually at the AAEES Excellence in Environmental Engineering and Science™ (E3S) Awards Luncheon and Technical Conference. A monetary award of $1,000 with an additional $500 for travel by the award recipient to the annual E3S ceremony will be granted to the winning nominee.

Examples of significant contributions include:

  • Development of educational material or text that enhances the ability of students to succeed as professional environmental engineers serving as practitioners in roles such as infrastructure design and project leadership.
  • Demonstration of successful course or curricula development aimed at educating practitioners. Successful deployment of the Environmental Engineering Body of Knowledge concepts.
  • Creation of unique methods or curricula that challenge and inspire students in the area of environmental engineering practice.
  • Demonstration of successful student educational outcomes (examples include: letters of support/nomination from former students currently practicing environmental engineering, former students passing PE, former students showing leadership as practitioners, critical projects that former students have led).
  • Establishment of positive student mentoring relationships or programs.
  • Contributions to the profession in terms of activity in professional organizations, delivery of lectures, and interaction with public agencies and the consulting community to bridge the gap between university education and environmental engineering practice.
  • Open to all university faculty teaching environmental engineering.

Nomination packages should include: (1) a brief cover letter from the nominator; (2) brief curriculum vitae (4-page maximum) for the nominee, (3) documentation related directly to the award criteria consisting of no more than 30 pages, (4) one (minimum) to five (maximum) letters of recommendation from current or past students; and (5) one (minimum) to three (maximum) letters of recommendation from faculty, administrator, or industry peers. Past nominations will be carried over and considered for three years and can be modified during the current nomination period.

Questions may be directed to the chair of the AAEES Foundation Awards Committee:

Charles N. Hass, Ph.D.
Department of Civil, Architectural, and Environmental Engineering
Drexel University
e-mail: haas@drexel.edu; Tel: 215-895-2283

Information on where to submit a nomination package can be found here: http://www.aeesp.org/awards/e4.

Excellence in Environmental Engineering Education Winner

2019 Excellence in Environmental Engineering and Science Education Recipient

Sarina J. Ergas, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE

Dr. Sarina Ergas is a Professor and Graduate Program Director in the Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering at the University of South Florida, Tampa. She joined the USF faculty in 2009 after 15 years at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst. She holds a BS in Environmental Engineering from Humboldt State University and MS and PhD degrees in Civil & Environmental Engineering from the University of California, Davis.

Her research interests are centered on environmental biological processes, including biological nutrient removal processes for treatment of municipal and onsite wastewater, stormwater management and anaerobic digester side-streams. Her recent work also focuses on biological waste-to-energy technologies using anaerobic digestion and algal wastewater treatment processes.

She teaches Biological Principles in Environmental Engineering, Capstone Water Resources/Environmental Engineering Design and Mentoring Novice Researchers. She has mentored 60 graduate students, 8 postdocs, 70 undergraduates, 10 middle and high school science teachers and 15 high school students on research.

Dr. Ergas is a fellow of the Association of Environmental Engineering and Science Professors (AEESP) and a fellow of the Water Environment Federation (WEF). Dr. Ergas was a 2007 Fulbright Fellow and a 1995 Excellence in Civil Engineering Education (ExCEEd) fellow. She is a licensed Civil Engineer in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts and an AAEES Board Certified Environmental Engineer.

Past Recipients

2018 Valentine, Richard
2017 Mihelcic, James
2016 No recipient
2015 Nies, Larry
2014 Oerther, Daniel B.
2013 Novak, John T.
2012 Tchobanoglous, George

Back to Top