Please consider making a donation to support AAEES Programs. All donations are tax-deductible contributions to the Environmental Engineering and Science Foundation, a closely-related charitable foundation. Every dollar is used to support Academy Programs. To donate today, go to


Leadership and Excellence in
Environmental Engineering and Science

Related Items

Environmental Engineering and Science Foundation

Awards Competitions

Fair Medal

Gordon Maskew Fair Award

The Gordon Maskew Fair Award honors one of the pioneers of environmental engineering, Dean Fair. In addition to his own exemplary career, his living legacy includes hundreds of prominent practicing engineers and eminent professors who continue to emulate his values. He taught his students not only the technical aspects of the field but inspired them to use their skills to protect and enhance environmental quality.

Through the Fair Award, the Academy seeks to identify Board Certified Environmental Engineers, Members or Scientists who have contributed to the status of the environmental engineering or science professions by:

For the full list of eligibility criteria and information on how you can submit nominations for a worthy Environmental Engineer or Scientist, click here.

Fair Winner

2021 Gordon Maskew Fair Award Recipient

John E. Tobiason, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE

John E. Tobiason is Professor and Department Head of Civil and Environmental Engineering at the University of Massachusetts at Amherst where he has been a member of the faculty since 1987.

He earned his BS in Civil Engineering from the University of New Hampshire (1976) and MS in Environmental Engineering from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (1979). He then worked as a consulting engineer from 1979 to 1983 and earned his PhD in Environmental Engineering from the Johns Hopkins University (1987).

Dr. Tobiason has over 40 years of research, teaching and consulting experience in environmental engineering, mostly related to drinking water supply, treatment and distribution, with a focus on coagulation, oxidation, dissolved air flotation, media and membrane filtration, and other physicochemical processes for drinking water treatment.

Dr. Tobiason is a past President of the Association of Environmental Engineering and Science Professors (AEESP) and past Chair of the AWWA Water Science Research Division Board of Trustees. He is a past member of the Journal Editorial Board for the Journal American Water Works Association.

Dr. Tobiason is a registered Professional Engineer (NH) and is a Board Certified Environmental Engineer by the American Academy of Environmental Engineers and Scientists (AAEES).

In 2019, he was honored with the AEESP Charles R. O'Melia Distinguished Educator Award and the UMass College of Engineering Outstanding Teacher Award. Dr. Tobiason became a Fellow of AEESP in 2020 and currently serves on the AAEES Board of Trustees as liaison with AWWA.

Past Winners

2020 Reible, Danny
2019 Dzombak, David A.
2018 Reinhart, Debra R.
2017 Hickox, Stephen J.
2016 Rittmann, Bruce
2015 Luthy, Richard G.
2014 McCarty, Perry
2013 Lawrence, Alonzo W.
2012 Sproul, Otis J.
2012 Huang, C. P.
2011 Shuval, Hillel I.
2010 Surampalli, Rao Y.
2009 Wilson, Thomas E.
2008 Haug, R. Tim
2007 Stahl, Jim F.
2006 Singer, Philip C.
2005 Marini, Robert C.
2004 Conway, Richard A.
2003 Johnson, Jr., Charles C.
2002 Schad, Theodore M.
2001 Lue-Hing, Cecil
2000 Pohland, Frederick G.
1999 Eckenfelder, W. Wesley
1998 Orlob, Gerald T.
1997 Woodruff, Paul H.
1996 Loehr, Raymond J.
1995 Weber, Jr., Walter J.
1994 Gilbert, Jerome B.
1993 Sorber, Charles A.
1992 Carroll, William J.
1991 Busch, Paul L.
1990 Garrison, Walter E.
1989 Geyer, John C.
1988 Longest, II, Henry L.
1987 Canham, Robert A.
1986 Lagnese, Jr., Joseph F.
1985 Bacon, Vinton W.
1984 Malina, Jr., Joseph F.
1983 Stern, Arthur C.
1982 Gloyna, Earnest F.
1981 Rohlich, Gerard A.
1980 Gibbs, William R.
1979 Lawler, Joseph C.
1978 Kappe, Stanley E.
1977 Weston, Roy F.
1976 Boyce, Earnest
1975 Gilbertson, Wesley E.
1974 Butrico, Frank A.
1973 Ludwig, John H.
1972 Okun, Daniel A.
1971 Coulter, James B.

Back to Top

Facebook logo Instagram logo Linked logo Twitter logo YouTube logo Flickr logo