International Honorary Member

One or more International Honorary Members may be selected each year by the Academy's Board of Trustees by affirmative vote of at least two-thirds of its members. The individual so honored possesses one or more of the following characteristics:

  • has attained a position of eminence in the field of environmental and/or human health protection internationally or in his or her country;
  • has made a single noteworthy contribution or sustained contribution to the advancement of environmental and/or human health protection in a specific area internationally or in his or her country; or
  • has rendered outstanding service over a long period of time resulting in the advancement of environmental and/or human health protection internationally or in his or her country.

For the full list of eligibility criteria and information on how you can submit nominations for a worthy Environmental Engineer or Scientist, click here.

2019 International Honorary Member

International Honorary Winner

Professor Chihpin Huang, Ph.D.

Dr. Chihpin Huang, University Chair Professor in environmental engineering, received the B.Sc. and M.S. degrees from National Chang Kung University in 1981 and 1983. He received his Ph.D. from the University of Delaware, and then joined the faculty at National Chiao Tung University (NCTU) in 1990.

Prof. Huang is known for his intensive research activities covering a broad array of scientific topics on the physical, chemical, and biological aspects of environmental systems, specifically water. Dr. Huang has successfully incorporated nano-/ membrane/electrochemical technologies into water purification engineering. His scholarly work in refereed publications is impressive in terms of both quantity and quality.

Prof. Huang is the recipient of the Merit Research Fellow Award of the Ministry of Science and Technology (MOST), the Tung-Ho Outstanding Research Award, the Academic Award of the Chinese Water Works Association, and the Engineering Medal of the Chinese Institute of Environmental Engineering. He has also been named Research Fellow of MOST (2013~) and University Endowed Chair Professor (2011~), and he has received Outstanding Research Awards from the National Science Council three times.

He is the most prominent, decorated, and honored professor in the field of environmental engineering in Taiwan.

He was awarded this year's International Honorary Member of AAEES for his thoughtful leadership in bringing together diverse approaches to environmental engineering and science to protect the environment; for his pioneering leadership integrating sustainability into the practice of environmental engineering and science in Taiwan; and for his sustained leadership advancing the professional practice of environmental engineering and science.

Past Winners

2018 Burnage, Steve
2017 von Sperling, Marcos
2017 Friedler, Eran
2016 Doong, Ruey-An
2015 Lin, Tsair-Fuh
2014 Espino de la O, Ernesto

Back to Top