Please consider making a donation to support AAEES Programs. All donations are tax-deductible contributions to the Environmental Engineering and Science Foundation, a closely-related charitable foundation. Every dollar is used to support Academy Programs. To donate today, go to


Leadership and Excellence in
Environmental Engineering and Science

Related Items

Environmental Engineering and Science Foundation

Awards Competitions

Kappe Medal

Stanley E. Kappe Award

The Stanley E. Kappe Award honors the man whose dedicated leadership, strong devotion, and tireless efforts contributed so much to the growth and advancement of AAEE during the period he served as its Executive Director, 1971 to 1981.

This Award is presented to the Board Certified Environmental Engineer or Board Certification Environmental Scientist who has performed extraordinary and outstanding service contributory to significant advancement of public awareness to the betterment of the total environment and other objectives to the Academy.

For the full list of eligibility criteria and information on how you can submit nominations for a worthy Environmental Engineer or Environmental Scientist, click here.

Kappe Winner

2021 Stanley E. Kappe Award Recipient

James H. Clarke, Ph.D., BCES, F. AAFS

Dr. Jim Clarke is an Adjunct Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering and an Adjunct Professor of Earth and Environmental Sciences at Vanderbilt University. Prior to his Adjunct appointments, Jim was a Professor of the Practice of Civil and Environmental Engineering and a Professor of Earth and Environmental Sciences at Vanderbilt.

Professor Clarke is a Board Certified Environmental Scientist (BCES), a Trustee of the American Academy of Environmental Engineers and Scientists (AAEES) and a Fellow of the American Academy of Forensic Sciences (F. AAFS).

He is a peer reviewer for the Department of Energy, the Nuclear Regulatory Commission, the National Academies, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and several journals and book publishers.

Jim has over 45 years of professional experience with approximately 250 publications and presentations. He received a Ph.D. in theoretical chemical physics from The Johns Hopkins University and a B.A. in chemistry with honors from Rockford College (now Rockford University).

He is also a former professional drummer with blues and rock bands in the Chicago area, Baltimore, MD and Nashville.

Past Winners

2020 Wert, Wendy
2019 Pair, Jr., R. Benson
2018 Oerther, Daniel
2017 Hough, Merlyn
2016 Lue-Hing, Cecil
2015 Pope, Richard J.
2014 Reinhart, Debra
2013 Corneille, Richard W.
2012 Lippy, Stephen G.
2011 Tripp, Sandra L.
2010 Selna, Michael W.
2009 Graef, Stephen P.
2008 Flynn, Brian P.
2007 Dominy, Matthew
2006 Echelberger, Jr., Wayne F.
2005 Hickman, Jr., H. Lanier
2004 Williams, Robert C.
2003 Ryckman, DeVere W.
2002 Boyle, William C.
2001 Dee, William P.
2000 Willis, Charles A.
1999 Conway, Richard A.
1998 Velzy, Charles O.
1997 Meyer, Jr., Alvan F.
1996 Lagnese, Jr., Joseph F.
1995 Pohland, Fred G.
1994 Vicory, Alan H.
1993 Lederman, Peter B.
1992 Marini, Robert C.
1991 Busch, William H.
1990 Perry, Robert R.
1989 Guy, Jr., Louis L.
1988 Hesketh, Howard E.
1987 Graber, Ralph C.
1986 Coulter, James B.
1985 Snow, Donald L.
1984 Niles, Jr., Charles F.
1983 Palange, Ralph C.

Back to Top

Facebook logo Instagram logo Linked logo Twitter logo YouTube logo Flickr logo