Please note that the current pandemic has negatively impacted the Academy’s finances. Please seriously consider making a donation to support AAEES Programs. All donations are tax-deductible contributions to the Environmental Engineering and Science Foundation, a closely-related charitable foundation. Every dollar is used to support Academy Programs. To donate today, go to


Leadership and Excellence in
Environmental Engineering and Science

Related Items


Volume 36, No. 11 -- November 2020

2020 Annual Meeting

The 2020 Annual Meeting of the Board of Trustees was held via ZOOM on October 16, 2020. The meeting included a guest member: David Gaddis, Trustee-at-large-elect. Also attending were Burk Kalweit: AAEES Executive Director; Sammi Olmo: Manager Special Projects; and Marisa Waterman: Marketing Manager. Highlights of the meeting appear below.

New Officers and Trustees

Congratulations to the 2021 Officers and Trustees who were installed during the October 16 Annual Meeting and take office January 1, 2021:

Trustees serving their first three-year term, John Tobiason, representing AWWA; Leslie Lopkee Chau and David M. Gaddis, serving their first three-year terms as Trustees-at-Large.

Positions still vacant are for A&WMA and APHA trustees.


2021 Excellence in Environmental Engineering and Science (E3S) Competition and Awards

Give your best projects the broad exposure and global recognition they deserve. Begin planning your entry now. Deadline for submitting entries is February 1, 2021. Participants in the 2021 AAEES E3S will be able to submit completed entries online. Look for details at


2021 Environmental Communications (EComm) Competition and Awards

Communicating with a diverse set of stakeholders, as well as the public at large, can be a complex and challenging task. Communication and marketing plans must be designed to address the objectives and strategies of a campaign’s need to reach a target audience. With this in mind, AAEES is proud to offer this area of competition and invites consulting firms and municipal agencies alike to enter.

Completed entries for the EComm Awards Competition must be uploaded by March 1, 2021. You may submit the reservation form at any time, but it is advised that you do so early to ensure that you have sufficient time to review the instructions and test your secured drop box before the March 1st deadline.

For entry forms and guidelines, go to

2021 Committee Appointments

Reminder to Committee Chairs

President-Elect Lilia Abron is anxious to receive your recommendations for new committee members and/or chairs to replace those whose terms expire in December 2020. The Academy is seeking volunteers who are interested in helping the Academy through its network of committees. Committee appointments are for three-year terms. Please email your recommendations and letters of interest to “the attention of President-Elect Lilia Abron” either via email at or via postal mail to Academy Headquarters * 147 Old Solomons Island Road * Suite 303 * Annapolis, MD 21401, at your earliest convenience. For a list of committees and committee members, click here.

BCEE/BCEEM/BCES Recertification Review

Anyone who was requested to participate in the recertification review and has not submitted their documentation needs to do so by the end of the year. Please direct questions to Susannah at

Annual Certification Renewal

Annual Specialty Certification renewals on due December 31, 2020. If you have not renewed, please do so at:

It's Simple - Refer a Colleague to Apply for Board Certification

  1. Click here for the simple one-page nomination form for Board Certification OR
    Click here for the simple one-page nomination form for Board Certification through Eminence
  2. Complete the form
  3. Click on the Submit This Nomination button on the form
  4. Your default email application will open
  5. Click on the Continue button
  6. Click Send

The Environmental Engineering and Science Foundation Scholarship Fund

Scholarship Fund

EESF is seeking your support for the 2021 EESF Scholarship Fund Campaign. Your donation will be vital to achieving our goal of funding scholarships at a level of $2,500 per student per year. Donations in excess of this are sought to provide future funding.

Please take a moment to click on the link below to read about our 2020 EESF Scholarship recipients. They are superbly qualified and sincerely appreciated the financial assistance given to help them finish their education. Your donation really does matter and touches many lives. Please give whatever you can. All amounts help, and thank you in advance for your consideration of this important cause.

Go to to contribute today!

Click here to read about the 2020 EESF Scholarship Recipients.

Virtual Public Workshop: Progress, Challenges, and Opportunities for Sustainability Science


The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine will convene a virtual public workshop, Progress, Challenges, and Opportunities for Sustainability Science on November 30, December 1, and December 2, 2020 (Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday).

The workshop will review the state of cutting edge research that can help societies meet the goals of sustainable development, and provide scientific input to the ongoing discussions of the National Academy of Sciences (NAS) Grand Challenges in Science initiative and the Nobel Prize Summit “Our Planet, Our Future” that will be held in Spring 2021. The workshop has been designed by a Steering Committee of the following NAS members: Pamela Matson (co-chair), William Clark (co-chair), Arun Agrawal, Partha Dasgupta, Ruth DeFries, Carl Folke, Robert O. Keohane, Diana Liverman, and Stephen Polasky. It is structured around six themes that research has shown to be important in the pursuit of sustainability: (1) measuring progress toward sustainable development; (2) promoting equity and justice in sustainability efforts; (3) adapting to shocks and surprise; (4) fostering innovation for transformational change; (5) linking knowledge with action; and (6) managing and governing complex nature-society systems. Each theme will be addressed in a panel featuring presentations by, and discussions among, a half-dozen or so leading scholars from around the world.

More details are available on the project website including a list of panelists and other speakers, an agenda including timing of the individual panels, and a set of background readings:

Back to Top

Facebook logo Instagram logo Linked logo Twitter logo YouTube logo Flickr logo