2024 Awards

Thank you to everyone who made our 2024 AAEES Awards Ceremony such a success!

The recording and photos of this event will be uploaded within a couple of weeks.




The AAEES Awards Ceremony is returning to Washington, DC!

Join us as we celebrate the best of the best in environmental engineering and science on the campus of the historic Howard University.

The Academy is grateful to Howard University for serving as our local community host. We’re excited to be on campus and to interact with students who are the future of the profession!

For those who unfortunately can’t join us in person, we are pleased to offer the ability to still participate via Zoom. 

Agenda subject to change.  Times posted are Eastern.  Times are approximate.

12:00 PM Registration, Lunch, and Poster Session for In-Person Attendees
12:30 PM

Live stream begins.

Introduction from our Master of Ceremonies, Isreal Ray Hodges, Jr., P.E., CHMM, BCEE
Welcome to Howard University: Student Introduction by Gabrielle Wood

12:50 PM Opening Remarks from our AAEES President, Wendy A. Wert, P.E., BCEE
12:55 PM Words of thanks from our Executive Director, Professor Daniel B. Oerther, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE, BCES
1:00 PM Excellence in Environmental Engineering and Science Awards Announcements
1:40 PM Superior Achievement Award Winner Announcement
1:45 PM Superior Achievement Award Winner Presentation by David Major, Ph.D., BCES
2:00 PM Intermission/Video Feature of the 40 under 40 Recognition and
Environmental Engineering and Science Foundation Scholarship Recipients
2:15 PM Keynote Speaker: Kimberly L. Jones, BCEEM, Ph.D., F.AEESP, BCEEM
2:25 PM Environmental Communications Awards Announcements
2:30 PM Individual AAEES Award Announcements
3:15 PM Conclusion from our President-Elect, David A Chin, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE
3:25 PM Closing remarks from our Master of Ceremonies, Isreal Ray Hodges, Jr., P.E., CHMM, BCEE


We will be honoring the following individuals for their achievements in environmental engineering and science:

Edward J. Cleary Award

Cleary Award
Robert C. Williams, P.E., BCEE

Gordon Maskew Fair Award

Fair Award
Charles J. Newell, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE

The Ralph and Joe Bales Graber Science Award

Science Award
Dionysios D. Dionysiou, Ph.D., BCEEM
(to be recognized posthumously)

Stanley E. Kappe Award

Kappe Award
Christian Davies-Venn, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE, D.WRE, F.ASCE

Honorary Member

Honorary Member
Bernard Amadei, Ph.D., NAE

International Honorary Member

International Honorary Member
Pascal Elias Saikaly, Ph.D.


Excellence in Environmental Engineering and Science Education Award
sponsored by ABET

E4S Award
Benito Marinas, Ph.D.

Paul F. Boulos
Excellence in Computational Hydraulics/Hydrology Award

Boulos Award
Md Fahim Salek

W. Wesley Eckenfelder Graduate Research Award

Eckenfelder Graduate Research Award
Zixuan Wang, Ph.D.

W. Brewster Snow Award

Snow Award
Kelly Hollman


40 Under 40 Recognition Program

The following individuals are recipients of the 40 Under 40 Recognition Program.

Click here to see full profiles of the 40 Under 40 recipients.

Muhammad Ali, Ph.D.

Adib Amini, Ph.D., P.E., ENV SP, BCEE

Aaron William Bivins, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE

Manisha Choudhary, Ph.D.

Ashutosh Deshpande, MS, ENV SP, QISP

Cecilia Maria Dominguez, P.E.

Danielle Dorley

Nicole L. Fahrenfeld, Ph.D.

Ashley Geesman

Mohamed A. Ghorab, Ph.D.

Katie Greenstein, Ph.D., P.E.

Kerry Hamilton, Ph.D.

David Hanigan, Ph.D.

Mahmudul Hasan, Ph.D.

Greg Lackey, Ph.D.

Jiayu Li, Ph.D.

Mengyan Li, Ph.D.

Katie Marjanovic, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE

Colleen Naughton, Ph.D.

Kevin Orner, Ph.D.

Saumik Panja, Ph.D.

Kaushal Parbhoo, P.E.

Justin Rak-Banville, M.Sc., MBA, P.Chem, P.Eng., EP

Taylor E. Rycroft

Kelly T. Sanders, Ph.D.

Matthew Scarborough, Ph.D.

Adam Smith, Ph.D.

Heather Stewart, Ph.D., P.E.

Amalia Terracciano, Ph.D., P.E.

Ryan Antonio Thomas, Ph.D.

Gabriel Trejo, P.E.

Lee Voth-Gaeddert, Ph.D.

Xing Xie, Ph.D.

Boya Xiong, Ph.D.

Yang Yang, Ph.D.

Featuring winners of:


Recipients of:

Madeline Deck
Virginia Tech

Claire Elizabeth Funk
Clemson University

Jesseri Enya Jensen (Bleazard)
University of Colorado Denver

Hannah Leibman
University of Cincinnati

McKenzie Celine Pearson
University of Minnesota

Maxwell Donald Pepperdine
University of California, Santa Barbara

Natalia Taiz Salazar
University of California, Davis

Peyton Allisha Woodruff
North Carolina State University

Plus more to come! 

The Academy is about growing, connecting, and diversifying the environmental profession, and your attendance at our annual AAEES Awards celebration is a great way to connect!

We look forward to celebrating with you on April 11!

Sponsor of the 2024 Excellence in Environmental Engineering and Science Education (E4S) Award








Our Partners

ABET AEESP AIChE APHA APWA ASCE ASEE AWMA  Black and VeatchCDM Smith CESB DSWA EESF Geosyntec LACSD ladwp   MWDSC nacwa naem    OCSAN PDH Online SCS Engineers Stanley ConsultantsSWANA usaidis uswaterpartnership WEF